Question about two seemingly opposite training systems

Welcome to Complementary Training Community! Forums Endurance Training and Conditioning Question about two seemingly opposite training systems

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Pablo Nejamis 5 years ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • 29/08/2017 at 23:01 #20413

Hi! I’m a trainer based in Argentina. I’m new to this site and am enjoying it a lot! Currently I’m training someone for a Judo competition and I’m in two minds about two seemingly opposite training systems:
    1) The strength-aerobic method (attributed to Verkhoshansky here), where performance is enhanced by working with submaximal efforts with a typical 15s/15s work-rest ratio at 7 min intervals for as long as 45 min. Resistance training circuits and/or submax sprint work and plyometrics are used in this system. The rational behind it is to improve the efficiency of your neuromuscular system, raise your reactive strength levels and not so much to improve your glycolitic and aerobic systems, avoiding lactic acid production and delaying fatigue onset. Also, in this system you avoid cardio as it’s supposed to decrease your performance since it works primarily on your ST fibers, making you slow.

2) Improving your ‘aerobic window’
    This approach is maybe more familiar to me: basically you improve your aerobic contribution to energy production by raising your lactate threshold and also by improving your cardiac output, thus raising your aerobic contribution to strength performance (Jamie Jamieson here) and recovery between efforts